LGBTQ Critics Name Best in TV, Theater

ABC’s “Abbott Elementary” was named best comedy of the season this week by LGBT entertainment critics. Credit: ABC Television.

While “Hollywood” continues to wring its hands over the ongoing writers strike that has crippled production, GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics named the top picks for their annual Dorian Awards for television and Broadway theater.

OUTSFL Arts & Entertainment Editor J.W. Arnold is a longtime member of the critics group, which boasts nearly 300 members in the U.S., Europe and Australia, who cover film, television and theater.

In the television category, the critics named the final season of HBO’s “Succession” best TV drama, with the show’s Sarah Snook, taking home the best TV performance-drama in the gender-neutral acting category. Jennifer Coolidge was named best supporting TV performance in a drama for HBO’s “White Lotus.”

ABC’s “Abbott Elementary” was best TV comedy, while HBO Max’s “The Other Two” was best LGBTQ TV show. “Fire Island,” Hulu’s Asian-American retelling of “Pride & Prejudice” won best TV movie or miniseries. In the comedy acting categories, Bridget Everett from HBO’s “Somebody Somewhere” took best TV performance, while Ayo Edebiri on FX on Hulu’s “The Bear” was best supporting TV performance.

Amazon Freevee’s “Jury Duty” was the best reality show, topping MTV’s “RuPaul’s Drag Race” and Netflix’s “Queer Eye,” while “Schmiggadoon!” was named campiest TV show. “Queer from Fear: The History of Queer Horror” on Shudder was the best LGBTQ documentary.

In the special awards categories, Wanda Sykes was honored with the Wilde Wit Award (“to a performer, writer or commentator whose observations both challenge and amuse”), Elliot Page was named the GALECA LGBTQIA+ TV Trailblazer and Jennifer Coolidge officially became a GALECA TV Icon. Earlier this spring, GALECA named Nathan Lane the organization’s Timeless Star. 

The Dorian TV awards are traditionally announced prior to the conclusion of Emmy voting.

Also, earlier this month, GALECA’s new theater wing, comprised of critics who cover Broadway and Off Broadway theater, named the inaugural Dorian Theater Awards. With the exception of outstanding musical for “Kimberly Akimbo,” the LGBT critics departed from Tony voters, whose awards were presented a week later.

Dorians went to “Fat Ham” for outstanding play, “Into the Woods” for outstanding musical revival and “A Doll’s House” for outstanding play revival. “Leopoldstadt,” “Parade” and “Topdog/Underdog” would go on to win the Tonys.

In the gender-neutral acting categories, Victoria Clark (“Kimberly Akimbo”) edged out non-binary actor J. Harrison Ghee (“Some Like it Hot”) for best lead performance in a musical and Bonnie Milligan took best featured performance for “Kimberly Akimbo.” Ghee would later be named the LGBTQ Theater Trailblazer (“to a figure who inspires empathy, truth and equity”).

Rounding out the theater awards, “Fat Ham” was outstanding LGBTQ production, edging out “& Juliet” and “Some Like it Hot,” and “Titanique” was the top Off Broadway production, along with Marla Mindelle in the OFF Broadway acting category.

For a complete list of 2023 Dorian Awards nominees and winners, go to


Phone: 954-514-7095
Hours: Monday - Friday 9AM - 2PM


2520 N. Dixie Highway,
Wilton Manors, FL 33305



Got a juicy lead or story idea? Let us know!



Out South Florida

Hello from OutSFL! We hope you'll consider donating to us. Starting a business can be a scary prospect, but with your support so far, we've had tremendous success. Thank you!

donate button