Local Authors for Pride; Carbonell Awards Seeking Nominations & More

Gregg Shapiro. Courtesy of Rick Karlin.

Join OutSFL’s own Gregg Shapiro for an engaging introduction to notable authors and their works in contemporary LGBTQ literature at the main branch of the Boca Raton public library, 400 NW 2nd Ave. on June 20 at 6 p.m.

He will feature South Florida writers such as Caridad Moro-Gronlier, the newly named Poet Laureate of Miami-Dade and the author of the award-winning 2021 poetry collection Tortillera; award-winning writer Julie Marie Wade whose 2023 essay collection Otherwise was named as a Lambda Literary Award finalist; Black, gay poet Jubi Arriola Headley whose 2024 poetry collection Bound was just published; and Rick Karlin, author of the forthcoming “Last Call South Florida,” a history of LGBTQ+ bars from West Palm Beach to Key West.

Not only does Shapiro cover film, books, and music for OutSFL, but he is also an accomplished and award-winning poet and short-story writer. He is the author of nine books including “Refrain in Light” (Souvenir Spoon Books, 2023), and an anchor on Queer News Tonight and a Rotten Tomatoes critic.


The Carbonell Awards is seeking nominations for up to six special awards. The awards are:

The Vinnette Carroll Award for significant achievement in advancing the cause of diversity, equality, and inclusion in South Florida theater.

The Charlie Cinnamon Award honors an individual who contributes significantly to the support of the arts in South Florida and the Carbonell Awards program.

The Ruth Foreman Award recognizes contributions to South Florida theater development by an individual or group, for singular achievement and/or career contributions.

The Bill Hindman Award honors significant, long-term contributions to the region’s cultural life and onstage career achievement by performing artists based in South Florida.

The Howard Kleinberg Award honors an individual or organization for contributions to the health and development of the arts in South Florida.

The Bill von Maurer Award for Theatrical Excellence honors a theater company that exemplifies excellence for the totality of its programming: productions, educational outreach, developmental programs, and audiences served.

To submit a nomination for a Carbonell special award, send the nomination by July 15, to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and put “Carbonell Nomination” in the subject line: In your submission, include:

  • Nominee’s name
  • Name of the Special Award for which you are making a nomination
  • Why do you believe he/she/they are worthy of consideration for this Special Award?

The Carbonell Awards Board of Directors will review all nominations before selecting which special awards to present this year and each recipient. The board can choose from the list of submitted nominations or add other names for consideration. In addition, the board can consider any nominee for any award – not necessarily just the one for which he/she/they have been nominated. The winners of the 2024 Carbonell special awards will be announced in August.

The Carbonell Awards fosters the artistic growth of professional theater in South Florida by celebrating the diversity of our theater artists, providing educational scholarships, and building audience appreciation and civic pride by highlighting the achievements of our theater community. More than 20 professional theater companies in Broward, Miami-Dade, and Palm Beach counties participate in the awards process every year. For more information, please visit www.carbonellawards.org.


Phone: 954-514-7095
Hours: Monday - Friday 9AM - 2PM


Corrections: editorial@outsfl.com

2520 N. Dixie Highway,
Wilton Manors, FL 33305



Got a juicy lead or story idea? Let us know!



Out South Florida

Hello from OutSFL! We hope you'll consider donating to us. Starting a business can be a scary prospect, but with your support so far, we've had tremendous success. Thank you!

donate button